Tuesday, May 14, 2024

Theater: Recipients of The 78th Theatre World Awards

(c) Theatre World Awards

Recipients of the 78th Annual Theatre World Awards were revealed today, honoring 12 outstanding Broadway and Off-Broadway debut performances.   The awards ceremony will be on June 10 at the Marquis Theatre.

This year's Theatre World Award honorees this year are:

The Who's Tommy (c) Matthew Murphy, Evan Zimmerman

Ali Louis Bourzgui – The Who’s Tommy 

Cole Escola (c) Emilio Madrid

Cole Escola - Oh, Mary 

The Outsiders (c) Matthew Murphy

Brody Grant – The Outsiders 

An Enemy of the People (c) Emilio Madrid

Michael Imperioli – An Enemy of the People 

The Wiz (c) Jeremy Daniel

Phillip Johnson Richardson – The Wiz 

Patriots (c) Matthew Murphy

Will Keen – Patriots 

The Wiz (c) Jeremy Daniel

Nichelle Lewis – The Wiz 

Mary Jane (c) Matthew Murphy

Rachel Mcadams – Mary Jane 

Hell's Kitchen (c) Mark J. Franklin

Maleah Joi Moon – Hell’s Kitchen 

Stereophonic (c) Julieta Cervantes

Tom Pecinka – Stereophonic 

Stereophonic (c) Julieta Cervantes

Sarah Pidgeon – Stereophonic 

Stereophonic (c) Julieta Cervantes

Chris Stack – Stereophonic

15th Annual Dorothy Loudon Award for Excellence in The Theater

Philadelphia, Here I Come (c) Jeremy Daniel

A.J. Shively – Philadelphia, Here I Come

For Lifetime Achievement in the Theatre

Tuesdays with Morrie (c) Jeremy Varner

Len Cariou

11th Annual John Willis Award

2024 Special Award Honoree
Peter Filichia

Theatre World Awards Committee: 

Linda Armstrong (Amsterdam News) 

David Cote (The Observer)

Joe Dziemianowicz (New York Daily News, Emeritus)

Peter Filichia (The Newark Star-Ledger, Emeritus),

David Finkle (New York Stage Review)

Elysa Gardner (USA Today, Emeritus)

Harry Haun (The Observer)

Cary Wong (The Interested Bystander)

Frank Scheck (The Hollywood Reporter)

If you want to comment on this article, please do so on my Instagram account.  All reviews have their own post.  And please follow to know when new reviews are released.